top of page
Residencies header.png

NYSAF supports residencies for artists and fellow theater companies that provide tailored resources for their specific needs. Throughout the year, residencies offer sustained financial support, multiple access points to the NYSAF community, and curated responsiveness. During the Summer Season, individuals, small teams, and large companies are present to address their own goals while being a part of the larger artistic community. Support may range from a retreat to work quietly to more detailed project support, within a safe and accessible creative environment. 

awards & Fellowships.png


The Pfaelzer Award was created in honor of Johanna Pfaelzer’s twenty-year commitment to nurturing artists and their developing stories at NYSAF. Selected by a panel of former recipients, the Pfaelzer Award winner receives a monetary award, is invited to be in residence as a part of the NYSAF Summer Season to observe, incubate, or work on a project of their choosing, and has the opportunity for project mentorship from Johanna Pfaelzer.

2020  Estefanía Fadul

2021  Elisa Bocanegra

2022  Dawn Monique Williams


The Founders' Award was created on the occasion of the company's 25th anniversary, in honor of the founders Mark Linn-Baker, Max Mayer, and Leslie Urdang's enduring commitment to nurturing writers at the earliest stages of their careers. Selected by a panel of former recipients, The Founders' Award winner receives a monetary award, an extended residency during the NYSAF Summer Season, and financial and administrative support for a project for which they are the sole curatorial voice.

2010  Eric Bernat

2011  Jonathan Caren

2012  Don Nguyen

2013  Sarah Gancher

2014  Suzanne Heathcote

2015  Harrison David Rivers

2016  Max Vernon

2017  Ngozi Anyanwu

2018  Korde Arrington Tuttle

2019  Keelay Gipson

2020 Kirya Traber

2021  jeremy o'brian

2022  Nissy Aya


The Drama League Stage Directing Fellowship provides a wide range of opportunities for early-career directors, to create multiple avenues of future success in the theater industry. NYSAF is one of many partners that offers a residency as a part of the two-year fellowship, for which The Drama League also provides significant financial support and health care reimbursement, creative retreats, network development, and opportunities to direct. Learn more here

2019 Ben Randle

2021 Sivan Battat

2022 Ibi Owolabi


New York Stage and Film offers the annual Dasha Epstein Fellowship to an emerging writer or director who is a student or alumni of Barnard College during the Summer Season. These young artists work with our staff and other professional mentors to hone their craft, and engage in their own creative projects within our vibrant artistic community.

2012 Emma Goidel

2013 Natalie Molina & Kai-Hsian Tu

2014 Emily Sorenson & Kate Sullivan

2015 Nissy Aya

2016 Sarah Eleanor Linda Minnie Scarr

2017 Andrea Jo

2018 Christine Aucoin

2019 Nell Bailey &  Louisa Melcher

2021 Kay Kemp


Through the support of The Dramatists Guild Fund, NYSAF welcomes a current DGF fellow to the Summer Season, where they join the artistic community and work with NYSAF artistic staff on their own projects. 

2013 Tatiana Suarez-Pico

2014 Sarah Sanders

2015 Camille Darby​

2016 Jerome A. Parker

2017 Zoey Martinson

2018 Keelay Gipson

2019 Erika Dickerson-Despenza


Presented in partnership between New York Stage and Film and The Ziegfeld Club, Inc., The Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award offers a prestigious $10,000 grant that aims to celebrate an emerging female composer or composer/lyricist who compellingly demonstrates outstanding artistic promise in musical theater composing and clearly demonstrates how the grant money & mentorship will further her artistic career. Learn more here.

2020 Tidtaya Sinutoke

2021  November Christine, Carmel Dean and Madeline Myers

bottom of page